It's How Medicine Should Be®

Office of Community
Engagement

Committed to Community

Darlene Hightower, Associate Vice President , Office of Community Engagement and PracticeRush University Medical Center has been a fixture on the West Side of Chicago for more than 175 years, providing high-quality care to patients and exemplary training for medical professionals. Over the last 25 years, through programs like the Rush Community Service Initiative Program, the Science and Math Education Network and school-based health centers, Rush has extended its reach into the community with the same level of excellence. Today, our goal is to build upon this rich history and invest even more deeply in the communities we serve..

Committed to the community,
Darlene Oliver Hightower
Associate Vice President , Office of Community Engagement and Practice

Our mission

The mission of the Office of Community Engagement is to enable and support Rush University Medical Center in fulfilling its commitment to improve the quality of life within Rush’s diverse neighboring communities through initiatives and partnerships.

These are some of the ways we achieve this mission:

  • Assessing the health needs of our community and developing strategies to address these needs
  • Evaluating the effectiveness of Rush programs in meeting the needs of our community
  • Reporting and communicating Rush’s community engagement efforts to its internal and external communities
  • Developing and strengthening effective community partnerships
  • Coordinating community-based experiences for students at Rush to enhance their ability to care for diverse populations
  • Serving Students and families by providing quality, accessible health care within Rush’s school-based health centers and the Adolescent Family Center

Meet the team

Darlene Oliver Hightower, JD
Associate Vice President, Office of Community Engagement
darlene_hightower@rush.edu

Linda Fitzgerald
Senior Business Manager
linda_fitzgerald@rush.edu

LaDawne Jenkins
Project Manager
ladawne_jenkins@rush.edu

Kimberly Johnson
Administrative Assistant
kimberly_a_johnson@rush.edu

Sharon Gates
Senior Director, Rush Community Service Initiative Programs
sharon_gates@rush.edu

Sally Lemke
Director, Community Health Clinics
sally_lemke@rush.edu

Rukiya Curvey Johnson
Director, Rush Education and Career Hub (REACH)
rukiya_curveyjohnson@rush.edu

Christopher Nolan
Community Benefit and Relations Manager
christopher_nolan@rush.edu

Julia Bassett
Community Benefit Specialist
julia_s_bassett@rush.edu

Robin Pratts
Manager, Community Health and Faith Initiatives & The Health Legacy Program for Women
robin_pratts@rush.edu

Learn More