RUSH Earns High Ratings for Quality and Safety

All three RUSH hospitals recognized by Leapfrog Group
Melody Cobleigh, MD, with a patient

All three RUSH hospitals have again received high ratings from the Leapfrog Group, a nonprofit healthcare watchdog organization that grades hospitals on the quality and safety of care they provide. 

“RUSH’s consistently high ratings in safety and quality care reflects our incredibly dedicated team,” said RUSH President and CEO Dr. Omar Lateef. “Our pursuit of excellence for our patients is everyone’s responsibility at RUSH."

RUSH University Medical Center and RUSH Oak Park Hospital again received A grades, and RUSH Copley Medical Center received a B grade.  

Leapfrog assigns an A, B, C, D or F grade to general hospitals across the country based on more than 30 national performance measures reflecting errors, accidents, injuries and infections, as well as the systems that hospitals have in place to prevent harm.

The standard at RUSH

RUSH University Medical Center has now received 19 A grades from Leapfrog. This comes on the heels of it being named one of the highest-quality hospitals in the nation for the 10th year in a row by Vizient, the nation’s leading healthcare performance improvement company.

This marks RUSH Oak Park’s 15th A grade in a row from Leapfrog and 17th overall.

“This is a testament to the dedication of our entire team,” said Dino Rumoro, DO, MPH, FACEP, president and CEO of RUSH Oak Park. “Receiving high ratings as a system proves that delivering the highest quality of care in a safe environment continues to be the standard at RUSH.”

RUSH Copley Medical Center earned A’s in 20 sets of grades that Leapfrog has issued since it began rating hospitals for safety in 2012.

“Safety and quality care is the cornerstone of what we do at RUSH,” said John Diederich, president and CEO of RUSH Copley Medical Center. “Our unwavering commitment to always be striving to lead the way directly contributes to the quality of care we provide for our patients.”

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades are updated twice annually in the fall and spring.

To see full grade details, visit

Related Stories