It's How Medicine Should Be®


French German Italian Portuguese Russian

Department of Internal Medicine Leadership

Chairperson: Jochen Reiser, MD, PhD
Executive Vice Chairperson: Sumant Chugh, MD
Vice Chairperson, Education: E. Baker, MD
Vice Chairperson, Research: Vineet Gupta, PhD
Vice Chairperson, Quality and Patient Safety: Monnie Wasse, MD, MPH
Department Liaison for Stroger Hospital: Suja Mathews, MD
Director of Operations: Brian Stein, MD
Director of Academic Affairs: Alan Harris, MD
Director of Residency Program: Scott Hasler, MD

Division of Cardiology – Kim A. Williams, Sr., MD

  • Section of Electrophysiology - Richard Trohman, MD
  • Section of General Cardiology - Neal Ruggie, MD
  • Section of Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant - Burhan Mohamedali, MD
  • Section of Invasive Cardiology - Neeraj Jolly, MD
  • Section of Noninvasive Cardiology - Melissa Tracy, MD

Division of Digestive Diseases and Nutrition - Ali Keshavarzian, MD

  • Section of Gastroenterology - Mark T. DeMeo, MD
  • Section of Hepatology - Nancy Reau, MD
  • Section of Endoscopy - John Losurdo, MD 
  • Section of Nutrition Research - Martha Clare Morris, PhD

Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism - Brian Kim, MD

Division of General Internal Medicine - Daniel Dunham, MD, MPH

Division of Geriatrics, Gerontology and Palliative Medicine - Anthony J. Perry, MD

  • Section of Epidemiology Research - Dennis A. Evans, MD
  • Section of Palliative Medicine - Sean O'Mahony, MB, BCH, BAO, MS

Division of Hematology, Oncology and Cell Therapy - Timothy Kuzel, MD

  • Section of Bone Marrow and Stem Cell Transplant - Gorgun Akpek, MD
  • Section of Hematology - Parameswaran Venugopal, MD
  • Section of Oncology - Melody A. Cobleigh, MD

Division of Hospital Medicine - Suparna Dutta, MD, MS, MPH

  • Section of Global Health - Stephanie Crane, MD
  • Section of Pharmacy Practice - Nora Flint, PharmD, BCPS

Division of Infectious Diseases - Gordon M. Trenholme, MD

Division of Nephrology and Nephrology Transplantation - Stephen M. Korbet, MD

  • Section of Clinical Nephrology - Jochen Reiser, MD
  • Section of Transplant Nephrology - Samuel N. Saltzberg, MD

Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine - Robert A. Balk, MD

  • Section of Critical Care Medicine - David P. Gurka, MD, PhD
  • Section of Pulmonary Medicine - Robert A. Balk, MD
  • Section of Sleep Medicine - James Herdegen, MD

Division of Rheumatology - Joel A. Block, MD