As we begin to reopen Rush University Medical Center for elective procedures and in-person care, we are putting your safety first. For information about COVID-19, see the latest updates. Rush accepts donations to support our response effort, staff, and patients and families.

Excellence is just the beginning.

Office of Community Health
Equity and Engagement

Committed to Community
Black lives matter. Be the change.

Our mission

The mission of the Office of Community Health Equity and Engagement is to enable and support Rush University Medical Center in fulfilling its commitment to improve the quality of life within Rush’s diverse neighboring communities through initiatives and partnerships.

These are some of the ways we achieve this mission:

  • Assessing the health needs of our community and developing strategies to address these needs
  • Evaluating the effectiveness of Rush programs in meeting the needs of our community
  • Reporting and communicating Rush’s community engagement efforts to its internal and external communities
  • Developing and strengthening effective community partnerships
  • Coordinating community-based experiences for students at Rush to enhance their ability to care for diverse populations
  • Serving students and families by providing quality, accessible health care within Rush’s school-based health centers and the Adolescent Family Center

Let’s Work Together to Be the Change

Using our voices is just one small way that we all can serve as change agents. Individual voices that come together in unison have power. Join us in encouraging everyone to find ways every day that we can all Be the change. We’re in this together.

Please download, print, post and share.

Black lives matter printout

Black lives matter 8.5 x 11"
 

Black lives matter printout with explanatory statement

Black lives matter with statement 8.5 x 11"

Black lives matter printout

Speak up. Speak out. 8.5 x 11"
 

Black lives matter printout

It's up to all of us 8.5 x 11"
 

Meet the team

Darlene Oliver Hightower, JD
Vice President, Community Health Equity
darlene_hightower@rush.edu

Julia Bassett
Manager, Health and Community Benefit
julia_s_bassett@rush.edu

Sharon Gates
Senior Director, Rush Community Service Initiative Programs
sharon_gates@rush.edu

LaDawne Jenkins
Manager, Operations and Community Engagement Initiatives
ladawne_jenkins@rush.edu

Rukiya Curvey Johnson
Director, Rush Education and Career Hub (REACH)
rukiya_curveyjohnson@rush.edu

Kimberly Johnson
Program Coordinator
kimberly_a_johnson@rush.edu

Michael Jones
System Manager, Anchor Mission and Engagement
michael_a_jones@rush.edu

Sally Lemke
Director, Community Health Clinics
sally_lemke@rush.edu

Thomas Molina
Manager, Financial Operations
Thomas_Molina@rush.edu

Christopher Nolan
System Manager, Community Health and Benefits
christopher_nolan@rush.edu

Tiffany Vazquez
Program Coordinator
tiffany_vazquez@rush.edu

 

Learn More