Vizient has ranked Rush University Medical Center #1 for quality among the nation’s most prestigious academic medical centers. Learn more.

Excellence is just the beginning.


Rush University Celebrates 42nd Commencement

(CHICAGO) — Rush University will recognize more than 600 graduating students at its 42nd commencement ceremony Thursday, May 22, at 4 p.m. at the UIC Pavilion, 525 South Racine, Chicago.

Dr. Larry Goodman, president of Rush University and CEO of Rush University Medical Center, and Dr. Thomas Deutsch, provost of Rush University and dean of Rush Medical College, will preside over the ceremony and award degrees to students graduating from the University’s four colleges.

Gail L.Warden, MHA, will be the commencement speaker. Warden is President Emeritus, Henry Ford Health System and Professor of Health Management and Policy at the University of Michigan, School of Public Health. He is also the former executive vice president of Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke‘s Medical Center.

Warden served as president and CEO of Henry Ford Health System from 1988 to 2003. He currently serves as chairman of the board of trustees of Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science (North Chicago), chairs the Wayne County (Michigan) Health Authority and the Detroit Zoological Society. He is also a director of the National Research Corporation in Lincoln, Nebraska. He is Chairman Emeritus of the National Quality Forum, Chairman Emeritus of the National Committee for Quality Assurance, a past Chairman of the American Hospital Association and the Chair Emeritus of National Center for Healthcare Leadership.

Warden began his career at Rush, starting as a unit manager and that is where he met his wife Lois, who had just gone through Rush’s nursing diploma program. In his most important role, he served as executive vice president and chief operating officer of Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center from 1965 to 1976. Here he was instrumental in reopening Rush Medical College, and starting the College of Nursing and College of Health Sciences.

Established in 1972, Rush University is comprised of Rush Medical College, the College of Nursing, the College of Health Sciences and The Graduate College. The graduating students will be receiving the doctorate degrees in medicine from Rush Medical College, and master’s in nursing and doctorates in nursing practice from the College of Nursing.

Degrees conferred by the College of Health Sciences include the bachelor’s degree in imaging sciences, medical laboratory science, perfusion technology, respiratory care and vascular ultrasound; the master’s in clinical laboratory management, clinical nutrition, health systems management, medical laboratory science, occupational therapy, perfusion technology, physician assistant studies, research administration, respiratory care and speech-language pathology; and the doctorate in audiology.

Degrees conferred by the Graduate College include the master’s in anatomy and cell biology, biochemistry, biomechanics, biotechnology, clinical research, immunology/microbiology, neurosciences, and pharmacology and the doctorate in philosophy in anatomy and cell biology, biochemistry, biomechanics, health sciences, immunology/microbiology, molecular biophysics and physiology, neurosciences, nursing science and pharmacology.

Rush University is the academic component of Rush University Medical Center, a leading academic medical center. Rush University was founded in 1972 and has expanded from one college and fewer than 100 students to four colleges and an all-time high of 2,206 students this year. It includes Rush Medical College, the College of Nursing, the College of Health Sciences and The Graduate College. Rush University is known for its practitioner-teacher model, translational research, nurturing academic environment and focus on community and global health.

Media Contact

Sign up now for medical news and free health tips.